I Want It All!

Early morning rising, preparing for work. In what has been dubbed the common grounds of my apartment,  the kitchen. As I stand browsing the fridge for my version of Sweetie Pie’s

image

breakfast, I turn to my son and asked, “what would you like for breakfast?” His response was, “I want it all!” at that very moment my thoughts of my child having it all became a vision.

As a parent, I have literally hoped, wished, and prayed for my son to have everything that his heart desires and more. What does that truly look like? In the quest for your child to have it all, does that mean giving it all? If your answer is yes, how do you believe your efforts would fair against what society says you/they should have?

image

I recall as a girl sitting in class writing on a piece of paper the name of my crush, the age and year I would graduate from high school and college. The estimated age I would be when I started my career. The age I would be married and with child.  Well, one thing I can say is that time never stopped, yet my timeline of my version of “having it all” has. Living the “American Dream” of life, love,  happiness, and liberty is what we have been conditioned to believe is the way and the light.

image

You know, the great job, white picket fence and 2.5 kids (has anyone figured out who the hell the .5 is as of yet? Yeah me neither…#CarryOn) is the quintessential viewpoint of what some would consider “living”.  Whose lenses are we looking through anyway?

When I think of the viewpoint of a mother of a teen living in an urban metropolitan city, I can’t help to wonder if her viewpoint is skewed? Depending on your locale, survival may be your only dream. As a mother of a teenage boy living in Anycity, U.S.A. I hate to say it, but I too have been plagued with this vision,  yet I refuse to allow this thought  process to box my child in. His statement of “wanting it all” penetrated deeply for me as his mom. The reason why is because I too want the same and hell he deserves it….and if I can help it, he will have it. Where we reside dreams are cut short by bullets, uncaring family members, lack of discipline, lack of resources and or the lack of encouragement to be better than what you see before you. I have very strong beliefs, and I believe having it all is necessary.  This does not mean materialistic objects.  I mean the tangible things…like Maslow’s “Hierarchy of Needs”.

image

If you have your basic necessities in life, then that can equate to having it all. So on my quest to rear an upstanding,  morally conscious, respectful/respectable, all around great child that would one day grow to be a gentleman I challenge myself to ensure he has it all.  I challenge you as well. What does having it all mean to you? What does that look like for you and your family? Guess what? We deserve it….so seek it. Carpe diem!

6 thoughts on “I Want It All!

  1. I really enjoyed reading that. I’m with Ms. Overton..will there be a book in the future? If not a book then I can see you writing articles!! I am so proud of woman you have become. Stay focused because your intellect, admiration, confidence, determination and God will bless you to have it all.

  2. That’s the battle mostof us fight for the better part of our lives. When we are young, we identify what we “want.” Throughout the years, it seems the goals and the blueprint change more times than we can keep up with.

Leave a Reply

