Posted in journey, life

Marathon Running…No More. 

While lacing up my Nike Air Max a thought came to mind on how we place so much emphasis on life and running this rat race of a marathon that others created. Why? Most of us have no clue of exactly what we were sent here to do, yet we continue to rise each day in hopes of finding that one shrewd answer. Who laid out the timeline and/or blueprint for us to follow as it relates to accomplishments? Who said we had to have it all by Oct. 18th 2017? Who told us that? So many of us are racing against an imaginary clock that we feel at any given time, the sand in an hour glass, once empty, so are we. Done. 

We’re discouraged by false expectations that are set either by others or ourselves. Again, I ask why? With a plan, a strategy, execution, and PATIENCE you’ll eventually reap the fruits of your labor.

Every positive thought, every move of the chess piece on the board moves you closer and closer to the winner’s circle. You know what word comes to mind when I think about the leaps and bounds one takes for success; PERSEVERANCE. While on this road you may take several routes, make multiple pitstops and/ or change direction numerous times, but the key is to keep going. Keep forging ahead with the same passion as you had when you set out on your path. 

 

In the last few months I have learned and accepted my version of atonement. Each day that I rise will not be like the day before. Each day that I rise I do not have to have a set plan on what should be done. One things for certain and two things for sure I will never stress myself on taking some much needed “me time” and not having ALL the answers. In the bigger scheme of things I deserve this time of not knowing. I deserve this time of “taking my time.” One may never understand the hard work that took place, nor how long it took to get here, just know, I’m here. 

It’s a beautiful thing to know that life is meant to be lived and not enslaved to the thought patterns or blueprint of your fellow man/woman. There are #NoFinishLines as long as  you have blood running through your veins and breath in your body. Gone are the days of feeling like I must “show and tell” why I am the best of the chosen. I now operate in the know. Knowing that I am great. Knowing that I am in a great space. Knowing that if what I deem as good enough for me does not fit the bill for someone else, that I too have a choice.  Knowing that it’s ok to not know, but to keep trying. Knowing that in this very moment, I’m alive and all the dreams and aspirations has not died, is more than enough. I can, in fact, wake up and push to do it all over again.

So in closing the next time someone asks me what do you do or what are you going to do? My answer will be take care of me, unapologetically, for as long as it takes until I get it right. There are no deadlines or finish lines while you’re still breathing, but in the meantime don’t forget to breathe. 

Leave a comment